Walkshington: Part one; Curse Youtube!

I seriously meant to write this earlier this evening. I had just eaten dinner and was back at my computer with full intention of blogging out some thoughts I’d had while driving to Walkerton on Thursday. Now I find myself, Late Friday night, or, if you like, Early Saturday Morning, in front of the computer with full intention of writing them down. And yet, wouldn’t it be easier to just pop open Firefox and see what funny videos I can find? I’ll just throw maybe four or five on my quicklist just to give me a pickmeup or something. All of a sudden it’ll be an hour later and I’ll be on facebook playing poker with 5K/10K blinds, listening to itunes, confirming intuitions on wikipedia and disproving hearsay on Snopes. I’m just lucky the Daily Show and Colbert Report aren’t on tonight or I would just not get any writing done.

I’ve been playing a lot of Spider Solitaire recently and have found that the Medium difficulty doesn’t provide me with too much of challenge anymore. So, as in Guitar Hero, I felt the need to upgrade to the expert, four suit setting.

It’s way too hard. Why not include a three-suited version? Come on. That is an impossible learning curve. Was that originally in the game and removed? Have I been playing too much Guitar Hero and it just seems like there should be a ‘Hard’ difficulty setting between ‘Medium’ and the hardest setting? Well, the answer to that is yes, I have been playing too much Guitar Hero.

Or Internet Spades. What a thrill that is. It’s not as cool as internet euchre, mind you, but I do enjoy coming together with three perfect strangers to play some virtual cards. But it’s more than just cards, Internet Spades, and checkers and all the other XP Games, give players from different continents the ability to communicate with each other through a cruelly primitive list of communication options; phonemes so brief and unvaried, they are little more than verbal emoticons; your only possible choices to convey frustration, disappointment and a whole host of other feelings are 😦 and ‘uh oh…’ I understand they made these dialogue limitations to prevent people from harassing competitors. But, what about the times when your teammate deserves to be harassed for a bonehead play? In those scenarios, I usually send my them a coldly passive aggressive ‘Thanks Partner,’ because – they know.

My sole previous experience in Walkerton involves playing a baseball tournament there whilst in public school. I think we did reasonably well at the tournament – I remember organizers freaking out about the recent water scare and handing out cases of bottled water to teams that were competing… but most of all, it’s the drive up that I remember most about Walkerton.

(continued)

… not now, sorry

About Dan Rankin

www.facebook.com/folksinger
This entry was posted in Canada and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment